Scratching the Itch

Once I had a tingle in my spine
An innocent little thought of something
so vile and destructive
I couldn’t speak it
It needed to be
itched

But the tingle evolved an infection
Now it’s become a rash on my skin
Infecting my thoughts with the idea
of purity
And sin

Infections become diseases, I said
as I tried to itch the evil away
Reveal yourself, monster!
I know you are there
Think you can hide beneath my compulsions?
I’ll keep itching them ’til you bleed

OCD is a difficult thing to deal with since it attacks both your body (making you execute compulsory actions) and your mind (obsesses you with terrible thoughts and scenarios playing before your eyes). The last days have been quite exhausting.
Malicia Frost

2 thoughts on “Scratching the Itch

Leave a Reply

