No more hiding!

selfie1.jpg

For as long as I can remember, my hair has been my shield. When I don’t want people to see me (which is pretty much all the time) I lean my head down and let it cover my face. Simple.
Particularly my long fringe has functioned as my main “security veil.” For more than ten years I’ve kept it covering my (in my opinion) ugly forehead, my eyebrows and part of my eyes. It may seem like a small thing, but for me it has been VERY important in order to feel safe.

Just now, I decided to make a change and spontaneously cut my fringe short. Daringly short. Extremely face-revealingly short. I also went to the hairdresser and asked her to cut away as much as she wanted of my thick, evenly long hair. Crazy! I haven’t dared to cut my hair since forever. And I ended up with a free, thicker-looking hairdo that I really love. Still getting used to the fringe… what do you think? Feel free to tell me.

Anyway, if I can get used to keeping it this short then I can finally get that eyebrow piercing I’ve wanted. (And dare my other fear – needles.) And the next step would be cutting down on my medication, something I’ve wished to do a long time. Even though I love my medicine and has had great help of it, I wish to be set free and manage on my own.

So this is it. No more hiding, I’ll try to wear my face with pride and hopefully make a change in my life.

Malicia Frost

Ps. The text on my shirt reads “Don’t steal my wifi”. *laugh*

4 thoughts on “No more hiding!

Leave a Reply

