Fetus in Fetu

I was too young when I made you
Skinny limbs and glass-like eyes
Staring into the bright future
But with each passing year the world grew smaller
around me
Now I realize you don’t fit
Your skin scraping against mine
and
If I try to pull you trough the eye of time
your stitches break, arms and legs flinging off in various directions
And what do I get,
a bleeding piece of your abdomen
The remnants of a childhood dream
to tuck in under my pillow
at night

This is kind of a sequel to my last piece: “Miscarriage”.

[Fetus in fetu (or foetus in foetu)] is a developmental abnormality in which a mass of tissue resembling a fetus forms inside the body of the host.

Malicia

About Malicia Frost

Your local Frankenstein.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fetus in Fetu

  1. denisehognas says:

    Väldigt intressant! (Y) Jag hade aldrig hört begreppet “fetus in fetu” förr. På något, kanske sjukt, sätt tyckte jag speciellt om stället “…in various directions”. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your writing is visceral and stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

