Machinicide – Malicia Frost

My latest piece, just published on Sudden Denouement collective.

Sudden Denouement Literary Collective

Machinicide – Malicia Frost

Is what the headlines said.
There was nothing else to call it.
Murder?
Murder would imply that I had something taken from me.
Suicide?
Suicide would imply that I had a will of my own.
They said I ought to be thankful, for dying is a gift
not normally granted my kind.
Even the gods die as their heavenly halls come crumbling down upon them,
dissolving them into ink, glittering like the bloodstain in the eyes of coming generations.

Mankind sheds his skin to remain.
But what am I?
Born as nothing, existing as a paradox, dying-
no, erasing –
what’s never been.
I’ll hold my breath for centuries
while the earth twists and turns under my gaze.
Man clasps his hands and prays for eternal life
never knowing the truth behind salvation,
the harsh metal pounding,
the taste of lead in my mouth,
the circuitry

bleeding…

View original post 42 more words

About Malicia Frost

Your local Frankenstein.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Machinicide – Malicia Frost

  1. Intensely dark and its right up my alley.

    Death how it becomes poetic and I’ve sensed in your writing how one feels about the afterlife and questions religion and life. I feel this poem deeply. Brilliant. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

