Morphazine

tumblr_njwlb8bip51qduw1jo5_1280

From “Innocent” by Shinichi Sakamoto

 

Connected to four different hospital beds
I hear the black-eyed angels crawling
closer
their tiny feet hammering on the ceiling tiles
like rain
pulling me out of my sleep

The god of sedation rules this place
this funny little gap between time
he serves me comforting lies
sealed in plastic tubing
to muffle their screeches
I think I’m addicted
to my deafness

I trade my dreams for piece of mind
I want to be senseless
disconnected
with his nails
digging in
my veins open and close
like weary eyes
I have lost my sight

Malicia

About Malicia Frost

Your local Frankenstein.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Morphazine

  1. oldepunk says:

    Shivering cold Truth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oldepunk says:

    Reblogged this on RamJet Poetry and commented:
    Malicia!!

    Like

  3. Like fingernails into my skin. You always write beautifully and with the most visceral intensity. I can hear the black angels “tiny feet hammering on the ceiling tiles.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MickHugh says:

    There’s something about your work (one of a dozen things), and I think it’s the natural sense of meter, and where the sounds break into new lines or stanzas, it makes the work actually pleasurable to read, like sunshine on the language centers of the brain.

    Liked by 2 people

    • My, sorry for replying so late! Stupid wordpress decided not to notify me of the comments. I’m very flattered you think so. And what a lovely metaphor! I’m glad you enjoyed this and thanks for taking your time commenting as well, I have not exactly been active on wordpress lately. Will try to catch up on SD!

      Like

  5. Ali Qureshi says:

    Thanks for penning real ordeals of life so adequately, people will say it’s dark.
    But it’s just sheer reality. Perhaps your reality!
    Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. For someone enduring mental illness subjects that are seen as horrific and macabre will actually feel comforting. That’s what it’s like to me anyway. Thank you for taking your time to comment, much appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, powerful work. Your writing has a tendency to leave me reeling for hours after I read one of your pieces.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Powerful poetry.

    Questioning ourselves as human who life has left us broken in pieces.
    The pictures and your works speak all the truth we need to see.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

