Slut

I took his saliva and distributed it evenly
over my soaring wounds
I was a harlot again
filthy consolation girl throwing my skin off
for anyone who as much as touched me

But they couldn’t know
what was going on behind my shut eyelids
They didn’t know of the man following me everywhere
Sitting on my shoulders
Sucking on my bruises

They didn’t know he was cruel
they never heard him yell into their heads
things they only speak of in hell
or lower elementary school

Neither could they know
our battle was a long fought one
while he built towers for me
I would sit there
like some fucking Rapunzel, awaiting a savior
or maybe just a momentary relief
a rough canoodle
behind the labyrinth of thorns
the moment
someone would come up to me and say
“hey. I like the things you do”
I would be stunned
over how they dared to challenge this monster
whose bare apparition would have turned the noblest knight around
there are, in all honesty, some battles
better left unfought
but I would look up at them and their face would beam
and it was then it hit me
that they couldn’t see him
they didn’t know they’d just stepped up and thrown a rock into a volcano. They didn’t know the glimmering light in which they appeared to be illuminated.

They thought I knew all of this.

I don’t.

About Malicia Frost

Your local Frankenstein.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Slut

  1. oldepunk says:

    Genius! I love this poem Henna, great work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oldepunk says:

    Reblogged this on RamJet Poetry and commented:
    Genius poem from Malicia

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is some powerful stuff my dear!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Howl Davies says:

    Emotive, vivid and honest. There’s really a sense of personality in the piece rather than imitation, and that’s what sets people apart.

    The topic, tone, and sense of personality remind me of Anne Sexton’s work. If you aren’t familiar I would highly recommend reading some of her work. I think you’ll definitely find some similarities, and I think you would like her writing style.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you dear, I’m glad the personality in this is appreciated since I was a little hesitant about posting it, it’s so tremendously intimate. Still, that’s what I go for in my poetry, it’s my style. I will check out Anne Sexton right away, thanks for the tip!

      Like

  5. I must agree wholeheartedly with Oldepunk. This is a work of genuis. I was transfixed as I read. Amazing, amazing work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Brilliant. Heart wrenching. Can’t read it just once!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Reblogged this on Sudden Denouement Literary Collective and commented:
    Malicia Frost/Malicia’s Malebolge

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m going to have to agree with the first comment of ‘Oldpunk’ it is genius in so many levels.

    Raw and captivating imagery. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

