(Sc)avenger

second-hand girl,
how brave she must be
to face her enemies
hands bound behind her back
a rusty lantern levitating before her
setting her eyes ablaze.
don’t let the halo fool you.
She’s no martyr
nor saint
She’s not heaven sent
or divinely gifted.
she will not knock on your door
and ask your permission
she will make you
pour holy water into her wounds
while screaming in ecstasy,
stretching her hands up to heaven.

she doesn’t believe in god
she doesn’t believe in justice.
she falls asleep fantasizing about self harm
wrists that are opened and then sewn back together
she makes up these scenarios
not as a means of inflicting damage
but as a road to retribution

too long she’s been pushed aside
choppedย into pieces and carefully sealed into
thrift shop bags
who wants to buy a sexy, self-destructive no-girl?
who would like to buy an unfinished sentence
echoing into eternity?
this time, she won’t be the hog
tucked in the bag
but the one selling
this is all of me
watch me burn
cast your incantations
fire to smoke to embers to dust
the desire to change is eternal

20 thoughts on “(Sc)avenger

    • Thank you so much! Your words truly brought a sense of warmth into my heart and a big smile on my face. Thank you. I’m glad someone can enjoy the stuff my anxious mind produces. Oh and thanks for reblogging, of course that’s alright, any day! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m flattered. Hope you have a nice day/evening/night depending on where you’re from!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m based in the UK Malicia! I too suffer from Anxiety and Depression. It is a cruel taskmaster, so I understand where you’re coming from. It does often yield creativity – which for us writers is the only positive of so crushing a condition. Thanks for the comment back. I absolutely love your work!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely agree! To me it’s like having this big, void-eyed monster inside that enhances your creativity and production and like, drives you to create things, but when it turns on you, it’s no fun. It’s a knives edge relationship, you know? One second it’s your best friend but without warning it can instantly turn on you and break you down.
        Hope you are well and take care of yourself brother. And thank you again!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m good thank you, aside from a shoulder injury making life difficult at the moment. It’s contributing to my writer’s block.
        Thank you for taking the time to talk with me Malicia. I know exactly what you mean on anxiety and especially in regard to the manifestation of it. Mine has presented itself in my nightmares as an eyeless girl in a black dress and striped tights. She visits me in my subconscious from time to time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aw shucks, hope your shoulder gets better soon ๐Ÿ™‚ And wow, it might just be me being me, but that sounds way cool. I’m mean, it’s not cool having anxiety, but the ability to manifest it as fictional beings is something I can deeply relate to. I have maybe a dozen different manifestations that I make up inside my head. They all serve their purpose though. And it inspires me to do quite a bit of drawing too, aside of writing.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Reblog – (Sc)avenger from Malicia Malebolge. – darkgingerbread

Leave a Reply

